Election period gun ban begins on April 14

As the election period starts, the gun ban follows on April 14, 2018, Saturday.
The official election period will start on April 14, Saturday, coinciding with the implementation of the gun ban.
During this period, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) will be accepting certificates of candidacy for the May elections.
Meanwhile, Comelec spokesman James Jimenez said the Comelec en banc is yet to decide on whether or not to publish the list of third termers in the barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) polls.
At present, there are more than 8,000 barangay officials and around 240,000 SK officials in the poll body’s list who are no longer allowed to run in the May 14 elections.
“What’s important is that the information is with us and validated,” Jimenez confirmed.
Once the Comelec en banc approves it, the list will be available on the Comelec website to serve as guide to voters as to who among the local officials are no longer qualified for reelection.